Medina wins 2014 ASP World Title

  • Ride
  • TV
posted by James Willmott

It’s official – Gabriel Medina is the 2014 ASP World Champion!

After a long year of competition the 20 year old claimed victory at the final event on tour, Billabong Pipeline Masters. Winning became a reality for Medina after Mick Fanning was eliminated in Round 5, making it impossible for any of the remaining contenders to overtake him in the rankings.

Winning a number of events including the Quiksilver Pro at Snapper Rocks and the Billabong Tahiti Pro among the razor sharp reefs of Teahupo’o, the Brazilian has been in the driver seat for the greater part of 2014.

While all eyes were on Media, our young Aussie Julian Wilson had an outstanding day, taking out the Pipe event as well as winning the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.

A huge congratulations to Gabriel Medina for winning the 2014 ASP World Title and  Julian Wilson for taking out the 2014 Billabong Pipeline Masters. What a great year – bring on 2015!

Check out the highlights of Medina’s 2014 competitive year.

*All imagery/video by ASP