O'Neill Cold Water Classic, Santa Cruz - Day Two

  • Ride
posted by Stab

After beating Dusty Payne, Kelly Slater insured that the Title Race will go to Hawaii.  Photo ASP / Rowland

Today at the O’Neill Cold Water Classic, Santa Cruz, some big names went down. John Florence, Julian Wilson, Jordy Smith and Mick Fanning were among those who couldn’t work out The Lane’s kinks. The day’s highlight, however, was the Dusty Payne and Kelly Slater round three heat, which included many cutaways to a nervous Joel Parkinson, and ended with a very big frontside air from the Dusty which didn’t get the score. If it had gotten the required nine-points, Kelly would’ve been eliminated and, if Joel had then won the event, the title would’ve been his in Santa Cruz. But Kelly ain’t the world’s most famous surfer for nothing and, as he does, the Floridian made it through. So, it’s official. The 2012 ASP world title will be decided at the Pipeline in Hawaii. This event could wrap tomorrow, so don’t miss out.

Jeremy Flores, defeating Kolohe Andino, with an A.I. tribute.  Photo by ASP / Kirstin

More photos?  Click here.

Heat 1: 
Taj Burrow (AUS) 14.83 def. Jadson Andre (BRA) 12.17
Heat 2: Travis Logie (ZAF) 14.67 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 11.13
Heat 3: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 16.53 def. Taylor Knox (USA) 14.77
Heat 4: Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 11.10 def. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 10.23
Heat 5: Alejo Muniz (BRA) 13.33 def. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 11.30
Heat 6: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 15.63 def. Nat Young (USA) 12.43
Heat 7: Kelly Slater (USA) 15.84 def. Dusty Payne (HAW) 14.77
Heat 8: Michel Bourez (PYF) 12.40 def. Kai Otton (AUS) 5.27

Heat 1: 
Kelly Slater (USA) 11.20 def. Jason Collins (USA) 9.40
Heat 2: Jadson Andre (BRA) 14.10 def. Mick Fanning (AUS) 14.06
Heat 3: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 14.50 def. John John Florence (HAW) 8.66
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 13.43 def. Adam Melling (AUS) 11.50
Heat 5: Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 14.44 def. Julian Wilson (AUS) 13.67
Heat 6: Owen Wright (AUS) 10.63 def. Tiago Pires (PRT) 8.27
Heat 7: Damien Hobgood (USA) 15.50 def. Josh Kerr (AUS) 12.94
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 13.47 def. Kolohe Andino (USA) 12.53
Heat 9: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 18.33 def. Kieren Perrow (AUS) 12.60
Heat 10: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 12.17 def. Heitor Alves (BRA) 10.53
Heat 11: Alejo Muniz (BRA) 15.10 def. Miguel Pupo (BRA) 15.06
Heat 12: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 13.40 def. Brett Simpson (USA) 9.07